Global Woman P.E.A.C.E. Foundation Announces the 2017 Award Recipients

In 2015, Global Woman P.E.A.C.E. Foundation (GWPF) launched the Recognition Awards to honor women and men, who dedicate their time to ending female genital mutilation and cutting (FGM/C) and other injustices on women and girls.

The organization recognizes women and men who use their talents and professional attributes to help in the campaign to end FGM/C.  Starting this year, there are only nine categories from which nominees will be selected to receive an award.   GWPF appointed a special International Nomination Committee, made up of previous awardees.  The committee is responsible for nominating individuals who have exemplified performance in the campaign against FGM/C.  The committee members, chaired by Amie Jallah have cast their votes.  The votes have been counted by the Executive Committee of GWPF, and the final winners are ready to be released this week.  The organization is thrilled to have such a committee in place.  As a committee, they have put forth several future ideas for the purpose of recognizing and honoring deserving women and men.  This year the nomination committee was unable to nominate a Student Ambassador therefore this category will not be awarded this year.

The purpose of nominating a student ambassador for an award is to help develop the interests of students, and encourage them to participate in the campaign to end the practice of FGM/C.  The Student Ambassador award is intended to encourage advocacy work.  In addition to the award, GWPF will write a letter of reference on behalf of the student, which may serve as future reference to universities and jobs.

Some of the awards recipients in 2015 were Dr. Marci Bowers, Shelby Quast, Jaha Dukureh, Fatoumata Kande, Hibo Wardere, Martha Allen and a few others.  In 2016, some of the awardees were Susan Masling, Kristin Hoffmann, Diane Walsh, Elisabeth Wilson, Hilary Burrage, Missy Crutchfield, Susan Gibbs, Andrea Roane, Sherelle Carper, Godfrey Williams-Okorodus (the first man to be recognized) and others.

Here is an explanation of categories and requirements.  In the future, feel free to send suggestions to the Awards Nomination Committee, based on the criteria.

Media – This awardee must use his/her work in the Media through reporting in print, television, radio or social media to help raise awareness about FGM/C to be eligible to receive the award in the Media Category.

Literary – By writing books, (fiction or nonfiction) textbooks, poetry or any literary work to educate, inform, influence the public and enforce the law about or against FGM/C; this awardee should have done at least one of these requirements to be eligible to receive the award in the Literary Category.

Legal – An attorney who works with immigrant women and girls of FGM/C experience is eligible for this award.  Also, an attorney rendering other legal services to help prevent women and girls from FGM/C would be eligible to receive the award in the Legal Category.

Medical – A medical personnel such as an obstetrician/gynecologist, psychologist, psychoanalyst, nurse, mental health professional, surgeon, etc. who has worked with women and girls that have experienced FGM/C will be eligible to receive the award in the Medical Category.

Survivor Activist – A woman who has experienced FGM/C, and has taken her own experience to help other women and girls; by either starting her own campaign against the practice of FGM/C or working with other organizations and campaigns will be eligible to receive the award in the Survivor Activist Category.

Advocacy – An advocate or activist who works against FGM/C and is making a difference in the lives of women and girls meets the criteria for this award.

Political – This awardee does not have to be a politician.  He/she must have helped introduce FGM/C into law, advocated against FGM/C in a nation’s government, parliament or congress to be eligible for this award.

Education/Training – A teacher, trainer, counselor, caretaker, etc. training and educating the general public about FGM/C is eligible for this award.

Student Ambassador – A middle school or high school student who has done something to help raise awareness among his/her peers and within their school about FGM/C is eligible to receive the award in the Student Ambassador Category.

Every nominee was eligible to receive the award for which he/she was nominated; however only one recipient can be selected as a winner in a given category.  This year, only in the Medical Category will there be two winners sharing the award.  It is because the two have worked together from the start for the post-FGM/C physical health of women.  The Awards Nomination Committee is proud to announce the 2017 awards recipients.

Here are the 2017 Awards Recipients:

  • Virginia Senator, Richard H. Black is the winner in the Political Category
  • Pierre Foldes and Ms. Frederique Martz share award in the Medical Category
  • Tobe Levin is the winner in the Literary Category
  • Arifa Nasim has been selected as the winner in the category of Advocacy
  • Mariya Taher is the winner in the category of Survivor Activist
  • Maggie O’Kane is selected as the recipient in the Media Category
  • Linda Weil-Curiel wins in the Legal Category
  • Edna Adan is the recipient of the award in Education/Training

Global Woman P.E.A.C.E. Foundation congratulates all of the winners in this year’s Recognition Awards.  Their bios and photos will be posted to the website.  They will receive their awards at the Walk To End FGM, during the pre-walk ceremony on Saturday, October 21, 2017 in Washington, D.C.


Please send your questions and comments about the previous article to